Quotes from “Wuthering Heights”

(some quotes are followed by the quotes from the film “The Wuthering Heights” in 1939)

“not because he’s handsome, Nelly, but because he’s more myself than I am.”

“Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.”

“My great miseries in this world have been Heathcliff’s miseries” –> “Every thing he’s suffered, I’ve suffered.”

“my great thought in living is himself.” –> My one thought in living is Heathcliff.”

“If all else perished, and he remained, I should still continue to be; and if all else remained, and he were annihilated, the universe would turn to a mighty stranger: I should not seem a part of it.” –> If the world died and Heathcliff remained, life would be full for me.”

My love for Linton is like the foliage in the woods: time will change it, I’m well aware, as winter changes the trees. My love for Heathcliff resembles the eternal rocks beneath: a source of little visible delight, but necessary.”

“Nelly, I am Heathcliff!”

He’s always, always in my mind: not as a pleasure, any more than I am always a pleasure to myself, but as my own being.”

“don’t talk of our separation again: it is impracticable”

BUT:

It would degrade me to marry Heathcliff now; so he shall never know how I love him”

P/S: who can feel how distressed our Heathcliff felt? How cruel one of her sayings is! Nothing but one sentence makes the rest of sentences become nothing, is meaningless or valueless. He must have been down to the bottom of the hell when a harsh reality was revealed “It would degrade me to marry Heathcliff”.

Gửi phản hồi

